Hofmann Award 2017

Prof. Wilfred A. van der Donk

University of Illinois, USA

van der Donk
   University of Zürich, Irchel Campus,
   Department of Chemistry
   24th of October 2017

   from 15.00 - 18.20,
   Irchel Campus Y03 G 95


   Organized and directed by the
     Department of Chemistry




Wilfred van der Donk was born in the Netherlands and moved to the USA in 1989 to pursue his Ph.D. at Rice University. After postdoctoral work at MIT with JoAnne Stubbe, he joined the faculty at the University of Illinois in 1997, where he currently holds the Richard E. Heckert Chair in Chemistry. Since 2008, he is an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.


Research in his laboratory focuses on using organic chemistry and molecular biology to gain a better understanding of the molecular mechanisms of enzyme catalysis. Of particular interest is the biosynthesis of antibiotics.


He has co-authored more than 240 publications and has received a number of awards including an ACS Cope Scholar Award (2006), Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award in Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry (2007), the Jeremy Knowles Award of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2010), the Emil Thomas Kaiser Award of the Protein Society (2013), and the Vincent du Vigneaud Award of the American Peptide Society (2017). He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the American Academy of Microbiology, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.